Our People

The Grand Bend Community Foundation is governed by a group of dedicated community leaders who provide their expertise, experience and knowledge on a volunteer basis.

 2020-2021 Board of Directors and Advisors

  • Penny Nelligan (ex officio Past Chair)
  • Deb Gill (Chair)
  • Tim Sweet (Treasurer)
  • Jim Jean (Executive Member at Large)
  • Chris Thompson (Director),
  • Tom Prout (Director)
  • Charlene Masschelein (Director)
  • Nan Brooks (Director)
  • Peter Janzen (Director)
  • Doug Hurst (Director)
  • Stephanie Allen (Director)
  • Pat Morden (Executive Director)


Board Biographies 

Penny Nelligan

Penny Nelligan has been a resident of Grand Bend since 2001. She is retired from her position as Director of the Standards, Programs and Community Development Branch of the Government of Ontario’s Ministry of Health Promotion. Penny is a Public Health Nurse who practiced in both a large urban and a rural Public Health Unit. She graduated from McMaster University with a BScN and from D’Youville College with a MSN in Community Health. Penny held a faculty appointment at McMaster University for 15 years.

Tim Sweet

Tim was a self-employed financial advisor from 1976 to 2014. His other interests include curling, fishing, volunteer work and travel. A resident of Grand Bend since 1999, he was a member of the fundraising committee for the Beach Enhancement Project. Tim is currently Treasurer of Grand Bend Community Foundation.

Chris Thompson

Chris has been the manager of TD Canada Trust in Grand Bend for more than two decades. Chris is an active volunteer in the Grand Bend community. As well as being a past Board member of the Grand Bend Community Foundation, Chris is also an active Rotarian, a former a board member of both the Grand Bend & Area Community Health Centre and the Grand Bend & District Soccer Association, and a member of multiple community committees.  Chris lives in Grand Bend with her husband Brian.

Tom Prout

Retired from a 40-year career with conservation authorities in Ontario, Tom received the Latornell Conservation Leadership Award for innovation, motivation and leadership. He has been a Director on many organizations, including the Ontario Institute of Agrologists, the Soil and Water Conservation Society, the Rural Ontario Institute, and the Grand Bend Community Foundation. For 29 years he has been a member of the Conservation Dinner Committee, which has raised more than one million dollars for local conservation projects.

Pat Morden

Pat has been a professional writer, editor and communication consultant for more than 30 years. A Grand Bend resident since 2004, she has served in a variety of volunteer roles, including as Chair of the Grand Bend Community Foundation. She is a committed environmentalist, has trained as a Climate Reality presenter with the Al Gore organization, and continues to work with the Lakeshore Eco-Network. She was hired as GBCF’s Executive Director in April 2018.

Deb Gill 

Deb is a retired primary school principal and most recently led a multi-million-dollar construction and fundraising project at Huron Shores United Church.

Jim Jean

Dr. Jim Jean is a retired dentist who teaches on a part-time basis at Western’s Schulich School of Medicine and Dentistry. A long-time Grand Bend resident, he has volunteered in the community in a variety of roles.

Nan Brooks

A retired senior hospital administrator, Nan is also a trained lawyer. Nan has become involved in many community efforts since her arrival in Grand Bend.

Peter Janzen

A chemical engineer, Pete spent his career with Imperial Oil and Exxon Mobil. A Grand Bend homeowner since 2003, he is now retired. He is an active Rotarian, and has two daughters and four grandchildren living in Lambton County.

Charlene Masschelein

Charlene grew up on a farm in Parkhill. A Chartered Public Accountant, she worked in Toronto for the past seven years for Johnson & Johnson. Now able to work from home, she moved to her new home in Grand Bend in October 2019.


The Grand Bend Community Foundation Ambassadors program honours and engages past board members of the Foundation.

Ambassadors continue to make a contribution to the Foundation by

  • Acting as a resource or sounding board on specific issues and programs
  • Identifying opportunities for the Foundation within the member’s community or sphere of influence
  • Opening doors for the Foundation where appropriate
  • Representing the Foundation at public events

Our Ambassadors are:

  • Patty Relouw
  • Jennifer Mossop
  • David Bannister
  • Bob Illman
  • Jim Southcott
  • Sherwood Eddy
  • Irene Hall